Lunar Eclipse Looking Glass-Poetry

The moon was shining sulkily,
Because she thought the sun
Had got no business to be there
After the day was done–
“It’s very rude of him,” she said,
To come and spoil the fun!”
excerpt, The Walrus and the Carpenter
from Through the Looking-Glass (1871),
by Lewis Carroll

Tonight’s sulky full moon in Aquarius is conjunct Neptune. As Neptune and Uranus are in mutual reception, and lunar eclipses do make a difference, we may find insight in the brilliant (Uranus) and enchanting (Neptune) work of Lewis Carroll, an Aquarius.

In the chart of Lewis Carroll (data from Astrotheme) his Aquarian Sun is conjunct Uranus and the South Node. He was born 4 days before a solar eclipse. Aquarius can be associated with the future and is certainly associated with being different. When the Sun is conjunct the South Node, this person may feel like he is fighting the current, or swimming upstream like a salmon, with the constant notion that the competition is never sleeping. Having a grand trine in Earth with Mercury (writing), Saturn (discipline) and Chiron (awareness), Lewis Carrol was able to describe how it was to have his chart — a rambunctious combination of Aquarian and Sagittarian energy over aiming his target to try to arrive on time. It could be that time travel in Through the Looking Glass was an expression of realism, considering his chart.

In Through the Looking-Glass, Alice discovers a book of looking glass poetry, ‘Jabberwocky’ and reads it in the mirror:

‘Twas brillig, and the slithy toves
Did gyre and gimble in the wabe:
All mimsy were the borogoves,
And the mome raths outgrabe.

Some classify this work as literary nonsense, but that is just a term. I find it almost impossible to surpress my wish to find meaning, code, or at least some insight into the subconscious mind. And somehow today I come upon an idea (Uranus) to read Lewis Carroll on the day of a full moon lunar eclipse in Aquarius, mutual reception running in the backgroound like an operating system.

Photographicly, part of what has happened during the mutual reception is it seems nearly all of our collective has bought digital (Uranian) cameras (Neptune) and web (Uranian) cams (Neptune) and we have entered our own looking glass. From an Aquarian perspective our collective awakens to the mystical and dreamlike. From a Pisces perspective we can be hypnotized or in a trance in our electronic world.

The Neptune-Uranus mutual reception will separate in March, 2011 and we will be left with one month of Neptune dangling at 29 Aquarius, while Uranus starts a firework rendition of “Bohemian Rhapsody” in the key of Aries. At that point in time, we may come back through the Looking-Glass, but for today if only a small part we can pay hommage to the looking glass poetry (Neptune) of Lewis Carroll (Uranus).

6 thoughts on “Lunar Eclipse Looking Glass-Poetry

  1. “Photographically part of what has happened during the mutual reception is it seems nearly all of our collective has bought digital (Uranian) cameras (Neptune) and web (Uranian) cams”I don’t mean to take this so literally, but I just bought a new digital camera a minute before reading this. And a new cell phone (not a Web cam) and I’m now looking at new cars (but I couldn’t figure out why!!) (I never every paid attention to material stuff before this week!)

  2. Yes, its totally inspiring, I am sure your photos will be stunning and otherworldly and your phone calls bedazzling. For cars perhaps consider Chitty Chitty Bang Bang with naviation and a jakuzzi.

  3. “It was evening, and the smooth active badgerswere scratching and boring holes in the hill-side,all unhappy were the parrotsand the grave turtles squeaked out.”I think that is the “real” translation.

  4. Wow. It’s been awhile since I’ve jumped on, but today I felt compelled to (I know – it’s been too long and I owe you an email). This is exactly what I feel i am going through….yesterday I stepped through a looking glass to finally, truly and unapologetically explore the other side of me. What’s interesting was that yesterday i made a conscious decision to avoid technology for the majority of the day, but come sundown, i couldn’t resist anymore. I wonder why. Today I’ve been smack dab in front of it since waking up.Hhmmm…..until March 2011, you say. Thats a long time to swim upstream **sigh**. Better start taking my vitamins. I wonder if there is a mix better suited for an Aquarius :-)Write you soon (I promise).-L

  5. hi lee!! yes technology, I found my favorite memory card for my favorite camera today and I was happy as a clam to get to know my camera all over again.Happy to see you. Best mix for a Aquarius is, by all means, to thyself be true, and then all is good.ciao,Deirdre

Leave a Reply

