Astrology for my Friends

On my summer vacation, I stopped in spontaneously to see a couple friends of mine as I was passing through Connecticut. I have known them for a long time and although we have always talked about astrology together, I was thrown off guard when, as we sat down to drinking coffee, I was asked what is going on in the stars. I am not sure if it was because it was a mix of people, only the minority of whom were into astrology, or if I was thrown off guard because I am more used to the privacy of blogging or the intimacy of a doing a reading over the phone or in person one-on-one.

I thought about the grand square in the sky, and I just didn’t want to get into it so early on a pretty Saturday morning after not having seen these friends in 20 years. “Well, the Sun has just moved from Leo to Virgo,” I said trying to condense all of the stars into a simple, humble moment, starting with just the Sun, so hopefully it wouldn’t seem too freaky. My friends quietly waited for more. “So I guess it’s time to start bringing in the harvest,” I summarized, hoping our astrology talk would end there. I noticed my mind had started to click into astrology, but I hoped I wouldn’t keep talking. I think I mentioned something vaguely about how we are coming upon a “period of unrest” and how the astrology from the mid to late 60’s is currently activated, and then I left it at that.

Since then, I have spoken with another friend, who reminded me that while reading what I write about astrology may be interesting to read, the subject’s technicalities are removed from her everyday life, and it is like reading about car engines, and I could definitely understand.

What brought me originally into astrology, was the sense of compassion I learned and felt when looking at another person’s birth chart. I noticed in charts of people who had a lot of planets in Virgo that they were very aware of their bodies and health. I remember in college one friend on my floor was particularly sensitive to her body. She knew when she had a migraine or a cyst on her ovary and she felt it acutely. This was my first awareness to people who are very sensitive to their bodies. As I began to do charts and more charts, and I saw peoples charts with lots of Virgo or planets lined up right around where 4 o’clock (the 6th house) lands in a chart. I noticed that those people were very busy in their days and very sensitive to their bodies. I don’t mean that they are any sicker or weller than anyone else, just more aware. I also noticed how Virgos who wanted to learn astrology learned it 10 times faster than I.

I was so fascinated that looking at a chart is a way of seeing someone as an individual with their own reality, and this kept me going for years in my study. A few years on I found The Theosophical Society in Boston who at that time met in the back room of a creaky book store in Back Bay. I was in my Saturn return, about 29 years old, and I found myself in a room with old people. Saturn is the planet of wisdom which comes from age. There were astronomers from MIT who were interested in practicing mundane astrology (the astrology of world politics and casting charts for countries) with applied asteroids, which was at that time for me like looking at car engines. It was 1989 – 1990, the beginning of the post-Cold War era; the Berlin Wall had just fallen and soon the states of the former USSR would be over thrown and the Soviet Union would collapse. As the astronomers from the Theosophical Society were putting the charts of the U.S, Germany and the USSR on the overhead projector, I felt an advent of new thinking and a sense of importance being part of the world.

My point is that astrology has taken me from the personal, to the relational dynamic, to the political, and back, inspiring me with the secure feeling of infinite knowledge. I write as a way of harvesting while personal and political opinions heat to a melt. I hope to explain things simpler, to involve a greater audience and to always keep learning myself.

Photos: Virgo as Urania’s Muse, one of the cards in the Urania’s Mirror deck, drawn by an “unknown lady”, 1825; The Fall of the Berlin Wall photographer unknown, both photos courtesy Wikipedia Commons.

Want to know whats happening in your chart? I’d love to tell you.
Contact me: Deirdre at Cosmicguidelines dot com to schedule a reading.

2 thoughts on “Astrology for my Friends

  1. great writer. You should write all of the time. 🙂 This was lovely and I learned some things about you. I've never thought about Virgo influence as about the body but I can see that.

  2. HI, Deirdre! You said: It was 1989 – 1990, the beginning of the post-Cold War era; the Berlin Wall had just fallen and soon the states of the former USSR would be over thrown and the Soviet Union would collapse. As the astronomers from the Theosophical Society were putting the charts of the U.S, Germany and the USSR on the overhead projector, I felt an advent of new thinking and a sense of importance being part of the world.Remember that Pluto will be moving over the energized points of this era for quite a while to come…Uranus Neptune conjunction with a saturn transit thrown in for fun. There are a lot of very mature 20 year olds out there just now, making choices many of us didn't make until our late 20s or 30s.Smiles and hugs,Lorrie

Leave a Reply

