To Heck With The Vase of Bondage by Deirdre Tanton

I started painting again. I go in and out of phases of being more like a graphic designer, more like an illustrator and in the last few years sometimes the most like an astrologer. But when I was in the U.S. this time I got really inspired to paint which I hadn’t done since the early spring when I abandoned a still life.

I kind of remember the problem being a lack of turquoise, my all time ever favorite color. So last Saturday I stocked up. I thought, if it was the turquoise that stopped me, let that never happen again. As I was spreading out everything to paint I found the abandoned still life about 50% done. My first thought was eek, get this out of my site and then, feeling empowered and confident from the turquoise I decided to reclaim the still-life, gussy it up and color it in. I knew full well, I would not be painting this now, if I hadn’t started it in the spring and if I had drawn a new composition this weekend, it surely would have been different, but what?

The original composition was so much about the cut flowers being dutifully crammed in a vase. In the end, I thought, man, to heck with the Vase of Bondage! What I like about the composition is the made-up flower forms with curving stems against a solid graphic background, and so I have found my take-off point for my next series.

If you are wondering about the astrology, I stocked up on the turquoise during the Pisces full moon, which was Friday. During the Aries moon on Saturday and Sunday, I acted on my impulse and painted fast. Mercury stationed to a retrograde on Sunday, which takes messages and turns them inside-out or wet-side-dry or stem-side-up, or something. A Mercury retrograde, from now until October 14, is a great time for finding something unfinished, taking it up again and discovering something about it we didn’t know before.

Leave a Reply

